Advice on custom flashlights

Rubecula

Newly Enlightened
Hi,
I'm a novice to the world of flashlights and have gone down the rabbit hole finding myself at your wonderful forum. I'm hoping you kind folk could help me please.
I'm looking for an edc flashlight that can combine my needs, I work mostly as a field botanist but also survey fauna so am very keen to find a multi function light with an output ajustable white light, a red light for minimising my presence to fauna and UV light for identifying bryophtes, lichens and fungi.
I'm happy with the idea of paying a bit more for something that will last a lifetime, Okluma or a similar flashlight maker greatly appeals.
I notice a couple of custom makers like Overready boss 35 and Laulima Ion had the option of a red light. Are there any custom makers or moders who would be able to make a light with uv as well?
Thanks for you help.

troutpool

Flashlight Enthusiast
I agree: 3 separate lights. Check out HDS Systems, Malkoff Devices, and McGizmo to begin with. Get a high CRI emitter in the white light for accurate color rendering.

Rubecula

Newly Enlightened
Thanks for the advice. They look really
good lights. The idea of seperate heads could be the way.
I was hoping to combine the 3 led colours in one light I'd keep on me ready for any situation. I have a headtorch with a red filter when i know im out night surveying or navigating at night.
Would you know anyone who could combine the 3 leds or is it unrealistic?
Thanks again for the help.

kerneldrop

Flashlight Enthusiast
I was hoping to combine the 3 led colours in one light I'd keep on me ready for any situation. I have a headtorch with a red filter when i know im out night surveying or navigating at night.

There actually is another alternative. It's not HCRI, but it's exactly what you want in one light.

I'm going to order me a couple to build. My kids will think they are awesome.

Last edited:

LEDphile

Enlightened