Custom IR LED setup for filming

LookFilms

Newly Enlightened
I am a filmmaker and am building a custom rig to film wildlife at very close range (6 inches to 2 ft) in the dark.
I am looking to have a set of individual infrared 940 leds (less than a dozen) placed around the lens.
Heat will also be an issue so I believe a heat sink will be required
Is there a company or modder that could assist with this?

Thanks in advance-

J-P

jaycyu

Enlightened
I ziptie four L2P's with 720nm IR P60 drop-in's together for my lighting setup, plus 1x 940nm.

For me, four lights are more than adequate at 0.5-1.5 meters for light painting, using a 50mm f/1.2 with a full frame camera set at iso 50. I'm assuming you're using a macro lens, which requires more light.
The 940nm is at least 1-2 stops less apparently bright compare to the 720nm counterpart, and all of them after running for a while are only slightly warmer than ambient temperature.

Last edited:

LookFilms

Newly Enlightened
I am a filmmaker and am building a custom rig to film wildlife at very close range (6 inches to 2 ft) in the dark.
I am looking to have a set of individual infrared 940 leds (less than a dozen) placed around the lens.
Heat will also be an issue so I believe a heat sink will be required
Is there a company or modder that could assist with this?

Thanks in advance-

J-P
Thank you for responding, I am new to this, how are you actually wiring / regulating power for the led's?
i have found them in bulk from china, is there a better source?
also these will be installed in underground bird nests so would like to include some type of hi temp safety cut off switch if they overheat
can you recommend anyone to help build and test this?

thanks in advance
jp

jaycyu

Enlightened
I'm not sure about the rules for posting about venders, so I apologize in advance if I muck it up.

P60 is a type of LED lightbulb module that goes in flashlights that accept the P60 size.