Emergency portable local radio communication

Kayaker530

Newly Enlightened
I am also an Amateur Extra Class Licensed Amateur Radio Operator. We have some folks looking into the Garmin system. We would only need to have one for each trip team. The camp program committee is looking for funds to undertake their use for this season. As you may have seen from something I shared earlier I'm also looking into the use of Automatic Packet Reporting System (APRS) automatic radio beacons as an interim measure for notifying the home camp and public safety agencies of a life or death emergency. If I had the money I would have already been on the phone to Micro Trak to request the restart of production on the Micro Trak All In One (MT-AIO). 15 MT-AIOs would equip each trip group team of counselors with a selectable signal automatic transmitter that they could use to summon help from their home camp and/or from public safety responders. Just one more thing that we are looking for money to implement.

Tom Horne
We have learned a great deal about the Garmin System. I am happy to share what we have learned. Prior to purchase most of my learning about the system were posts from long distance through hikers that use them on The Pacific Coast Trail and other long trail systems. We gained a lot of valuable information from them.

TD-Horne

Newly Enlightened