Converting handheld flashlight to external battery pack?

raoulduke101

Newly Enlightened
Hey folks. I am looking to build a waterproof flashlight that is powered by an external 8XAA battery pack. I was thinking of starting with a PT Torrent LED or perhaps one of the Fenix lights. My thoughts were to drill a hole in the end cap or some other part of the light body, install a waterproof wire gland, and then wire the light to the external battery pack. The problem is that I know next to nothing about wiring. I have searched for threads on how to do this, but have not had any luck.

My questions are:

1. Would I need to install some sort of dummy cell and then solder the wires from the battery pack to the terminals on the cell, or can I just solder the wires to the contacts in the light?

2. Are wire glands reliably waterproof? I don't need the light for dive applications, but short periods of submersion are likely.

I apologize if these are dumb questions, but I am a complete newb when it comes to wiring and electronics. However, I have always enjoyed DIY projects and would really like to learn more about electronics. Is there a thread somewhere on here that I missed on how to do this?

Thanks for all the great information on this site.

PCC

Flashlight Enthusiast
Just wondering what it about that light made it a consideration for this?

If I needed a light to be compact and a remote battery source can be used I'd take something like a ThruNite T30 or some other light where the head can be removed and I'd make an adapter that closes the exposed entrance of the head as well as a cap for the now headless battery and wire both adapters together using the appropriate wiring glands. The light can be restored to its origial configuration if needed

raoulduke101

Newly Enlightened
PCC, thanks for the reply. The only thing that interested me about the PC Torrent was the brightness, cost, and waterproofness.