Unprotected LiCo cells.

peter yetman

Flashlight Enthusiast
I probably don't want to hear the answer to this this question, but here goes.
I have about a dozen AW 18650 2600mah cells qhich I've been using for a few years.
The protection circuits have failed on a number of them so I removed the cicuit, rewrapped and carried on using them. Since then I've removed the boards on all of them to avoid getting caught out in the dark.
I'm treating them with care, as I would an IMR cell, as regards over discharge over charge etc.
My worry is, are the LiCo cells inrinsically less safe than IMR cells?
Shpuld I dump them before they dump me?
Thanks for looking.
P

Dr. Mario

Enlightened
As long as you use it in the flashlight with Low Voltage Protection with the cutoff of about 3.0 - 3.5 Volts. The game is to NEVER let them go below 3.0 Volts, and doing so preserves the Lithium Cobalt battery lifespan, as they're quite sensitive to everything. You don't have to dump them, so long they never have went under 3 Volts - but if one of them have gone under 3 Volts, discard them - not worth having one blow up in the charger. Yes, Lithium Cobalt batteries are much more dangerous than IMR ones, but as long as you use the common sense, they won't go nuke - some tolerate abuses better than the others, especially Panasonic ones.

I also hope you have decent charger (ie. not a dumb charger as Lithium Cobalt batteries just go KA-BOOM when overcharged, which is also a common sight in RC hobby).

peter yetman

Flashlight Enthusiast
Thanks Doc, that's reassuring, and yes I have a decent charger.
I will now ask a supplementary question...
My main light is a Direct Drive XM-L2 which runs fine on the 18650 LiCos. It draws about 2.5 amps. If I use a High Drain IMR it draws 3.5amps, enough to burn out the emitter.
Presumably the industry is going to go over to High Drain cells sooner than later, what unprotected cells will I be able to use that will restrict the current?