Understanding powerbank capacity and USB detector.

Woods Walker

The Wood is cut, The Bacon is cooked, Now it’s tim
One day I realized buying batteries for storm prep was a thing of the past within my kit. I was changing batteries and powerbanks as part of storm prep. As more of my preps and camping gear is now using USB power the topic is on my mind. I am no expert on this so looking for advice along with attempting to relay some info. Electronics aren't my specialty. I have been working on reviews for some outdoor powerbanks and solar chargers but wanted a bit more technical info to go along with the field use. So looking for advice from this community.

1. Power bank capacity.

Sometimes people assume if a powerbank has 4,000 mAh it can USB charge a 2,000 mAh battery twice but this isn't the case. I think beyond the all too often exaggerations from manufactures there are issues of conversion (battery chemistry voltage to 5 volts) and efficiency (length and quality of cable, environmental conditions, the circuit and a bunch of stuff I got no clue about). My basic method is to actually check how the battery/powerbank charges my devices. I run multiple tests at different levels of charge on airplane mode then do an average.

For example. The target device is an Ipad Air 2. The battery is rated for 7,340 mAh though not sure how it has held up over a year of use. What really matters is how much of an increase my device gains rather than another. I am selfish like that. LOL! Naturally there is a rounding which occurs as there are no fractions within the percentage shown on the screen.

Nitecore F1 with a stated 3500 mAh naked Sanyo red resulted in a 23.5% increase.

MyCharge Rugged Power with a stated 5200 mAh resulted in a 40% increase.

MyCharge Thin silver stated 3000 mAh resulted in a 26% increase.

MyCharge Rugged power 3000 mAh resulted in a 22% increase.

Pocket Juice black round stated 4000 mAh resulted in a 34% increase.