Olight H2R query

Wrongway

Newly Enlightened
I received an Olight H2R yesterday to compliment my other Olight torches. I received an email today from the dealer thanking me for the purchase and reminding me *The battery included is customized. Other batteries can not be used in this torch(because of the different circuit design. It came supplied with one of the proprietary Olight 3000mAH batteries which works with Olights magnetic charging system. As far as I am aware other 18650 batteries can be used with the H2R, it's just they cannot be charged within the torch like the supplied battery. I cannot think of any other reason that third party batteries cannot be used. I would probably only use a protected cell. If anything I think a third party cell is safer as any accidental short across the contacts at the base of the torch would not compromise the battery. Is this correct?

blessed

Newly Enlightened
Interesting thought. I am not an expert, but I also don't know why you couldn't use any high quality 18650 in this headlamp and charge it via the magnetic talkcap. I don't see anything special on the supplied Olight battery that came with mine. I will wait and see if someone with more knowledge than I chimes in on this.

Kallyfudge

Newly Enlightened
I believe the Olight batteries supplied with their rechargeable lights have both positive and negative terminals at the tail end (and positive at the head). This is the case with my R50 seeker. With mine you can use other batteries but not charge them in the light. I expect that's the case with yours but would double check.

blessed

Newly Enlightened
I believe the Olight batteries supplied with their rechargeable lights have both positive and negative terminals at the tail end (and positive at the head). This is the case with my R50 seeker. With mine you can use other batteries but not charge them in the light. I expect that's the case with yours but would double check.