16,000+ Lumen XHP70.2 liquid cooled megalight

ericfling

Newly Enlightened
Hello, I am new to this form. I joined because I need some help with this newest project.

Its purpose is to be a portable video light (as I am a videographer)

Power: 18650 cells 5p5s configuration, recycled cells, gives me about 160WH when discharged at about 3A. There are 2, 24v-12v (adjustable) voltage reducers, each are good for 9A. Then a motorcontroller to give me 9v-12.5v adjustability.

LED's: 4 XHP70.2, 4000k, 80cri 12v. Which I have free flow-soldered onto 12v ebay 16mm copper PCB's as well as some 6v 20mm PCB from adventure sports flashlights (these 2 were wired in series in order to let me use the 12v system already in place)

Thermals: Using Arctic Alumina Thermal Adhesive to connect PCB to heatsink. Heatsink is a water cooled block, connecting to a 80mm radiator (ya its kinda small) with a 80mm fan blowing pretty hard, then back to the 3gal/min pump. I connected everything up underwater so that I would not need a reservoir.

The Problem: The LED's keep dying, well stop working at least... I really do not think this problem is due to thermals. My reasoning for that is i've run all 4 (for the short time they worked) at full power 10-11amps for about 15 min. Everything was fine except for a small amount of flickering from one of the LEDs. I then turned the light off, waited a while, turned it back on and within about 5 seconds the one LED that was flickering shut off completely. This then happened again with the 2 wired in series (on the 20mm board) but after about 2-3 more tests. (they both went out at the same time)