Very basic red + white camping light DIY

Mowze

Newly Enlightened
Hi, I'm very new to this flashlight game although iv been using knockoff "cree" flashlights for a while and have dabbled in reef aquarium lighting. Id consider my electronics experience beginner to intermediate but I need to double check iv got things right for my current project.

I'm currently building a light for camping/fishing which will be mounted on a flat aluminium heatsink and powered by a single or possibly double (in parallel) NCR18650Bs with a protection PCB giving me a max output of 4.2v.

Ideally I want a separate red light and white light. Iv got a few 3w bridgelux red and daylight LEDs left over from old aquarium lighting projects but the drivers I have are incompatible with my project as they were powered from 230v AC.

Bridgelux specs are as follows:

Bright Red 630nm: Forward Voltage: 2.2V-2.7V Forward Current: 600-800mA Output: 85 lumens

6500k Daylight White: Forward Voltage: 3.2V-3.6V Forward Current: 600-750mA Output: 240 lumens

Am I right in thinking two AMC7135 chips per LED will be fine to drive them? I'm not really looking for any fancy features just simple on and off via a toggle switch.

Iv also been playing around with some cheap eBay 3v 3w 60x8mm COB chips. I haven't actually powered them up yet to test them but also wondered if anyone has had any experience with these?
Data seems to be limited and the sellers don't seem to have a whole lot of info when I ask them. The most I seem to have been able to get is this:

White Forward voltage: 3-4v Max Current 1000ma
Red 2-2.6v Max current 800ma

Am I right in thinking that two AMC7135 chips would be fine to drive these as well?

DIWdiver

Flashlight Enthusiast
Hello, and welcome to the forum!

Yes, two '7135s should be safe for either of those COBs, and probably for the Bridgelux devices given your application.