Maglite Switches

Tribull

Enlightened
Hi, so I've come full circle back to my youth and Maglite. I have a 2D cell that I converted to a nite ize 74 lumen led with a glass lens and aluminum reflector. Today I bought a 2C and dropped in a 55 lumen led. My question is this, why are the switches so different? The d cell is firm and substantial. The C cell with a cat symbol on it is weak and flimsy. Has anyone else run across this?

LiftdT4R

Flashlight Enthusiast
Congrats!! I am in the same boat. Love my 3D Mag with Malkoff Drop In. I've been using it for 17 years now!

The switches use the same internal parts so you should not be feeling a noticeable difference. If the serial has a letter in front of it they have the newer style switch. If the serial lacks a letter they use the older style switch. The same goes for Cs and Ds although Cs were modernized until 2003 whereas Ds were modernized in 1992. Even still both the old and new switches feel the same functionally.

Likely what has happened is one of the switches has more wear than the other. When the switches wear they do get a little sloppy. A new switch can be had for about $8 or so. Mag stopped replacing them for free a while back sadly. :-(

bykfixer

Flashaholic
The boot with panther logo'd switches feels more squishy than the non logo one on the D cell light. Like Lift'd said the piston, springs and stuff are the same other than the OD of the housing that is either C or D cell girth.

I bought a repair kit that came with several switches, boots, reflectors etc. The boots with the panther logo are thinner and softer than those labeled for the D sized light.

But yeah it does provide a bit of "sloppy" feel to it. I ended up swapping non logo boots onto my C size lights.

LiftdT4R

Flashlight Enthusiast