Recommend me a light for general travel/emergency

ThomGault

Newly Enlightened
I've reviewed the flashlights suggested in this forum for the past few months and didn't see any requests that match mine. Basically, I want an emergency-focused light for travel---particularly while hiking and visiting new cities. I'm a very novice hiker, though, so I basically have no idea what type of flashlight would be best. Possible uses would range from looking for an item dropped in weeds at night, to hiking a trail at night; obviously, those uses are disparate, and I don't plan on ever actually using the flashlight. I also want to be prepared to be in foreign cities with power outages; it should be appropriate for airline carry-on baggage.
My other major preference is for a flashlight made in the Western world. I've been burned by too many Asian products, even from reputable companies. But if Asian quality/value is head-and-shoulders above others, I'd consider it.

Thanks for your help!

==================Flashlight Recommendation Checklist================

1) How would you prefer to purchase the light?
Online or in-person is fine.

2) Budget: An easy question, but you may change your mind after answering the rest! :)
I'm not really sure yet...$50-$75 sounds reasonable, but I want quality, and I'm aware that quality costs extra.

3) Format:
I want a flashlight (hand held/self contained).

4) Size:
Probably 4-7 inches. I want to use it in a variety of settings; e.g. as needed while hiking or in urban environments, so nothing awkward or unwieldy. And TSA restrictions limit it to 7" maximum length.

5) Emitter/Light source:
Probably LED

6) Manufacturer:
Most likely a traditional manufacturer. I highly value quality, and greatly prefer a US or european made flashlight, unless it really can't compete with an asian product.

7) What power source do you want to use?
I'll probably use rechargeable cells of usual sizes, but I'm open to other suggestions.