Far throwing edc

danak1000

Newly Enlightened
Im looking for a single 18650 light with 800+ lumens that has extreme beam distance. Im looking for a light to be bigger than a emisar D4, no taller than 5.5 in. I dont care about switch type or color temper. just as long as it punches out there. I dont know every thing that's out there some input would be greatly appreciated.
(for give me if im posting wrong im very new to this)

Last edited:

Modernflame

Flashlight Enthusiast
A little more information might fetch some good recommendations. What size do you consider to be feasible for everyday carry? How far would you like to be able to see? What sort of battery do you prefer? Any preferences as far as user interface? How much are you willing to spend?

danak1000

Newly Enlightened
Im looking for a single 18650 light with 800+ lumens that has extreme beam distance. Im looking for a light to be bigger than a emisar D4, no taller than 5.5 in. I dont care about switch type or color temper. just as long as it punches out there. I dont know every thing that's out there some input would be greatly appreciated.

Modernflame

Flashlight Enthusiast
Your original post said that you wanted an edc type light. The challenge is that throw is usually achieved with a wider, deeper reflector. As a result, the best throwing flashlights have large bezels unsuitable for pocket carry. Some lights use TIR optics to create a narrow beam pattern, which can mitigate the form factor somewhat. Still, the general rule is that more throw requires a larger flashlight.

You mentioned Emisar. How about the D1? It's larger than the D4, but still relatively pocket friendly. At 43,000 cd, it will throw like a champion. Compare the D1S to illustrate the point about the size of the reflector.

psumo

Newly Enlightened

Emisar d1 or d1s

danak1000

Newly Enlightened
Thats funny i just bought those and was wondering if i made a poor purchase (i guess not) and if there are any better lights out there.