Busch Müller Luxos hack question

siltsunrise

Newly Enlightened
Hi, I was on here a bit years ago, but lost my user info, so new account.
I'm still a noob, in any case.
I have a BUMM Luxos U which is making me a bit nuts. It doens't think I have the wits to know when it's dark out, so turns itself on randomly, often, even in broad daylight.
Not the end of the world, but I'm hoarding all that precious power to charge devices and drive a speaker while I tour. And because of said speaker, I can't see when the bloody thing has turned itself on again without standing up off my recumbent.

BUMM is giving me the runaround, and because I bought it 2nd hand, I may not even be able to warranty it (german law - buyer has to do it - he's long gone).

Soo, does anyone who's gutted this thing think there's any chance I could snip something inside it to simply disable the stupid auto-on feature altogether?

Bonus questions: -
- Who makes the best version of the e-werk type gadget (usb charge port from a dynamo) these days, if I decide to ditch this thing.
- What's a good light to replace the Luxos? I love how it shines to the sides mightily; very very handy when I'm scouting for campsites after dark. I just like it. Something with a similar wide beam very preferable.

Thanks mucho!

angerdan

Enlightened
  1. Does anyone who's gutted this thing think there's any chance I could snip something inside it to simply disable the stupid auto-on feature altogether?
  2. Who makes the best version of the e-werk type gadget (usb charge port from a dynamo) these days, if I decide to ditch this thing?
  3. What's a good light to replace the Luxos?

1. mtb-news.de/forum/t/einfacher-umbau-des-busch-mueller-luxos-auf-cree-xm-l-fuers-e-bike.789761/page-2#post-15051678
  2. B&M offers the best solution AFAIK.
  3. B&M IQ-X.

samsavvas

Newly Enlightened