T-J-C

Newly Enlightened
Hello,

I am looking for a new head torch. I would like the following features:

• Red mode
  • Zoomable
  • Rechargeable
  • Adjustable brightness

I have no experience with 18650 batteries which seem to feature in most of the torches I have found. I understand these can be troublesome. Is it worth buying an unbranded torch or will they be more trouble than they're worth?

I will mainly be using it for hiking/hillwalking. I'd like the brightest I can get, preferable with a zoom function as I often need to be able to see points that are far away. I know a lot of the brightness claims aren't true on the budget torches, but I don't want to spend a fortune on a known brand.

I have found the following, will they be any good?

(EDIT) ...
MakeTheOne Headlamp
AkaleRechargeable Headlamp
... (links removed)

Does anyone have any recommendations?

Thanks

Last edited by a moderator:

harro

Enlightened
I use a Fenix HL60R. Has a neutral white main led, and a couple of small secondary red leds. Its usb rechargeable, although I recharge the cell in a dedicated charger. Its not a zoomer, but has a nice blend of throw/flood. As far as 18650's go, opt for a quality, protected cell, and a good charger, and you should be fine. I've used 18650's for 10+years in flashlights, and never a problem. We've all seen those YT videos where someone whacks the heck out of an 18650 with a hammer, then says ' watch how dangerous it is '............
Od6PGLz.jpg

PevXt5B.jpg

This one is mine, and the other thing I like is the removable top strap, if required.
I probably wouldn't go jogging with it, as it may be a bit heavy for that, but there are plastic fantastic's for that.

Last edited:

stephenk

Enlightened