Power for LED strips

ikr88

Newly Enlightened
Hello all, a newbie here and need some of your help.

I've got some strip lighting i want to mount on my entrance gate, that i was going to provide power to it from the gate motor.
The gate motor is powered from solar/battery at 24v, which I was going to tap into to power the strip.
It'll be run through a timer so it only operates the lights for a couple hours at night and in the morning.

The strip lighting is 12vdc, and I'm wondering what I need to convert the 24v down to the 12v, and provide the correct/clean power to the strip.
Do i just need to simply convert the power voltage down and run it straight from the battery supply? or does it need some sort of LED driver?

Be glad of your help/suggestions.

cheers.

MeMeMe

Banned
Hello all, a newbie here and need some of your help.

I've got some strip lighting i want to mount on my entrance gate, that i was going to provide power to it from the gate motor.
The gate motor is powered from solar/battery at 24v, which I was going to tap into to power the strip.
It'll be run through a timer so it only operates the lights for a couple hours at night and in the morning.

The strip lighting is 12vdc, and I'm wondering what I need to convert the 24v down to the 12v, and provide the correct/clean power to the strip.
Do i just need to simply convert the power voltage down and run it straight from the battery supply? or does it need some sort of LED driver?

Be glad of your help/suggestions.

cheers.