OLight R50 Pro

Pickers

Newly Enlightened
I was impressed by the look of the OLight R50 Pro but have since read that the output isn't all it could be amd not genuinely 3200 lumins and I'd be better off with a Nitecore or Acebeam. I want a rechargeable torch that is very bright and very well made from aircraft grade aluminium, that's why I decided on the R50 Pro at 3200 lumins. I could stretch toward an OLight Rx7 Marauder ar 12000 lumins but I'm concerned that this would get too hot and be very heavy? I'm torn between the Tiny Monster, OLight R50 Pro, and Rx7 or a Nitecore? I'm after great build quality and a powerful beam, needs to be waterproof too. I live in the UK so every price you pay in $s I pay the equivalent in £s , which isn't really fair but we have to live with it. 🙂 does anyone have any recommendations for me, please ? I'm new to all this flashlight stuff, I had no idea how big a deal it is, very interesting forum.

Lumenwolf

Enlightened
I have the standard R50 which was out before the pro. I got mine from Skylumen based in the US. (I'm in the UK). He modifies flashlights and they cost only a little more than standard. I opted for a shaved xhp50 to give the light a little more throw and love it. I use it at work all the time.
There are plenty of lights on the store and if you have any questions Vinh the owner will answer them as he's a lovely guy. Hope that gives you some food for thought.

aginthelaw

Flashlight Enthusiast
Depending on how you're carrying it can be hefty but if I was still wearing it on my belt every day, I wouldn't mind trading it for my streamlight stinger. I like the modes for a patrol light, and I could then throw it on the car charger to keep it topped off. The stinger would still be my first choice because of the warranty. I could beat on it all day long and get it serviced and back to me within 2 days when it failed, no questions asked.

Blglov

Newly Enlightened