New Nitecore nl1835hp 18650 arrived dead out of the package

Rwilliam

Newly Enlightened
First, I have enjoyed and use this forum for many yearsn, thx!

I recently got 2 Nitecore mh23's and 3 nl1835hp batteries, 2 sellers.

My concern is my first 2 batteries arrived charged with 3.5-3.5 volts per the MH23 flasher.
The 3rd battery was dead. These batteries have only been out a few years could have died completely?

In the past I used eneloops, powerex charger, in my Felix TK41, I have no experience with rechargeable lithium types. Served me well for many years, researched it on CPF, thanks again! RW

should I just charge the dead battery? Or Send it back?

Crazyeddiethefirst

Flashlight Enthusiast
Is it possible the safety circuit is tripped? In my experience even 10 year old Lithium Ion batteries are not "dead". Try putting it in the appropriate charger and check the voltage after a few minutes-if it is in the "normal" range, the protection circuit had been tripped. If it was me, I would use it a few days and see if it worked as it should-if not send it back. Just my opinion and I am open to hear what others say. Obviously if it does not charge then send it back...

zipplet

Flashlight Enthusiast
Agreed with Crazyeddie - stick the bad one in a charger that supports reviving protection circuit tripped batteries (all XTAR chargers for example) for about 1-2 minutes, then measure the voltage. It should then register a low voltage but above 2V. Then charge at a slow speed until full. Measure the resting voltage 1 hour after charging. Then wait 24 hours and measure it again. If it has fallen noticeably (e.g. 4.15V -> 4.0V) then the cell has suffered some damage.

As for the other, it sounds fine. It is fairly normal for them to be shipped with a voltage around 3.5-3.7V.

Rwilliam

Newly Enlightened
Thank you. I asked the seller he said it was normal, as they ship them with little charge due to explosion risk during air transport. I will update the thread after.