A Day at my Grandparents' (children's story I wrote)

ericjohn

Enlightened
This is my first attempt at writing a children's book.

It is heavily based on my childhood and yes there is a certain flashlight referenced in this story.

It is told from the perspective of a five year old version of myself, which would mean it takes place in the year 1992...

https://ericjohnmonier.com/2018/11/27/a-day-at-my-grandparents/

Without further ado, here it is:

I arrive at my grandparents' house and they welcome me with open arms.

My grandma offers me breakfast: oatmeal with hot syrup.

My grandpa sits at the table with me.

Suddenly he sneezes very loudly, "HYEH-HOO!" My grandma jumps out of fright. I just laugh. She then gives him a dirty look and he rubs my head. I finish eating my breakfast and then look out the front door. The mail truck is coming in the distance. I watch. Finally, it is near my grandparents' mailbox and the mailman puts several letters in.

"I'm going get the mail," My grandpa says.

"Our Social Security checks should be in today, honey." My grandma replies.

We walk to the mailbox and my grandpa picks up the mail then we walk back to the house.

"Yes, our checks are in. I'll go to the bank and cash them," He says, handing her the rest of the mail.

My grandma opens the envelopes, signs her check then says, "After that go to the hardware store and get a new light fixture for the utility room. "

I look at my grandpa and ask "Can I come with you?"

"Sure," He replies.

"Get our medicine from the drug store too, honey,"

"Yes, ma'am." He answers.

My grandma gives him another dirty look.

We then walk to his old truck and he starts it. The engine makes a loud noise and then we take off.

As we are driving down the road there is a car in front of us going super slow. My grandpa blows his horn and shouts, "Come on you turtle!"

I laugh.

"If your grandma saw me acting like that she would fuss, so don't tell her what I just did."

I nod my head and grin.