Experimental photographer looking for bright and versatile flashlight

crimelovinfunster

Newly Enlightened
Good afternoon all! I am new to this forum and I'm going to jump straight in, so please excuse me for neglecting introductory formalities... !

I'm a photographer and I like to use tight lighting control to take experimental time-based photographs.

I've used a cheap Skyblaze XML-T6 which is powered by 18760 Li-ion rechargeable batteries, which is a power system I've invested in for other projects.
I'm impressed by the beam controllability with the lens system, and the time it lasts. I've modified it with a tungsten filter to soften the light and I've added a cardboard tube with baffles to reduce the light spillage. I've also constructed a mask to create a thin sheet of light which the effect I'm after.

However I do not believe that it's really the stated 1800 lumens and I sense that I could acquire something considerably better with some modest investment. Am I right?

I've looked around and the nearest I've found to match is the LED P7R Lenser which runs off 18760 batteries, is focusable and has a brightness rating of 1000 lumens, and at around £60 is the budget I'm happy with. It looks like I could probably modify it if the lens is removable.
However I understand that for the budget I could find something more suited to my needs.

I'm being a little lazy and haven't combed through the forums, but any suggestions to get me started?

Thanks very much and Hello! I'm Hugh, by the way :-D

bykfixer

Flashaholic
Man, you could spend days researching here and still be bewildered. So asking this question was a wise move.

Is a zoomie real important? It sounds like it may not be. Budget however is.

Do you shoot still life or a mixture of action and still? Do you use a tripod and handhold the light? Or do you need something than can be cigar style held with the camera in the same hand? Sounds like you use long shutter speeds.