Electrician's Task Light Build

Woot

Newly Enlightened
Hey guys brand new here. So I'm sure I got a bunch of noob mistakes to make when talking about lighting. My project is- I want to put rechargeable spot lights (like a drop light or work light/ led's seen on the back of pickup trucks) on my work cart. It's just a small 3 shelf rubbermaid its 3' x 1.5'. I'm an electrician and need to light up all different areas, small/large/high/low... so I could obviously go with a prebuilt Milwaukee m18 light and clip it on the side. I have their batteries n charger so just the cost of the light would be like 80 bucks minimum or up to like $300 for the dual power mona lisa rocket light they offer. But either way... that gets me 1 light. That's it. And probably due to the budget, it gets me one battery power only light. I would like dual modes of power (110v/18v) and at least 2 lights if it can be done with in a decent budget. I really have not sat down to think about it because I fear the budget is going to blow any project right out of the water and send me to home depot as usual. As an electrician I have some lights, batteries from drills and exit signs wire and all that crap. I was thinking something with a small battery charger to an inverter off of a small battery that I can leave on the bottom of the cart n just plug in for a few hours or overnight. Has anyone tried anything similar? I understand that these things usually end up being budget busters so I'm about 80% ready to buy some Milwaukee lights but I if anyone has had success with this type of project then please share your experience. I wont be able to move on until I'm sure I cant do it myself for cheaper then big box store crap. Thanks. Woot.

nbp

Flashaholic
Hello and welcome!