My newly salvaged sanyo 18650 getting really hot when charged

Ammitz

Newly Enlightened
Hi all

first of all im pretty new in this battery thing :) and wanna say hello.

i purchased my first NCR18650B cells a few month ago. and with that i purchased a Liitokala Lii-260 Charger

yesterday i salvaged my first laptop battery a got 9 very nice Sanyo L45A cells from it.

Used a multimeter to check if the cells are dead or not . all 9 measured around 3.6V - 3.7V.

i popped 2 im my charger and set the charger to 500mA in the discharge mode when i got home, i checked regularly on them, to make sure everything is fine.

A hour later i noticed he charger measured 4.2V. but the charger still pumped voltage in to the battery, witch resulted in a very-very hot battery.

i was determed to figur out what vent wrong, and i connected my Fluke multimeter on it...

now i measured 4.236 V or 4236 mV and it seamed to be stalled on that voltage.

somehow my charger didden stop the charging cycle and continues to charge.

Next i did a discharge test with my NCR18650B from Panasonic,with my fluke connected and i noticed that the charger only start discharging when the voltage reached 4.257mV with is a overcharge. but my Panasonic cell did dent turn hot.

now im a bit worried that my charger is faulty or is it my newly salvaged cells that are bad ? im a bit confused .

SilverFox

Flashaholic
Hello Ammitz,

Welcome to CPF.

LiIon cells utilize a Constant Current/Constant Voltage charging algorithm. That means that since you selected 500 mA for charging the charger should charge at 500 mA until the voltage reaches 4.2 volts. There is some leeway with this voltage usually listed as + or - 0.05 volts. That means that overcharge is when the voltage exceeds 4.25 volts.

When the maximum voltage is reached, the voltage holds steady and the current drops off. At some point the current drops below a set point and the charge shuts off.