• You must be a Supporting Member to participate in the Candle Power Forums Marketplace.

You can become a Supporting Member.

Building an Aleph19... Few questions on LE

Raggasonic

Newly Enlightened
Hi all :wave:

First, I'd like to thank Wayne for the great service he offers.

Well, that being said, lets talk about my lil' questions about my Aleph 19.

- I'd like to drive a Q5 or R2 led at 1000mA, but as a newbie, I really don't know which driver I must/can use, so if you have any suggestions, I'd be glad to read them...;

- About the led itself, I want it to be on the neutral/warm side, I'm fed up with blueish tint, so what bin should I get ?

- Finally, I was wondering how to build the LE itself...
I read this page http://dmcleish.com/CPF/Aleph-LE-Build-Notes/index.html but since I ordered an XRCan (not Ecan + EScrew) I'm not sure about the way to do it. From what I can imagine, I put the driver on the bottom of the can, pot it with epoxy, and then just put the MPCB on it, resting on the lip of the can. Am I right :confused:

Thanks by advance, and sorry if my English is far from perfect :D

maxspeeds

Flashlight Enthusiast
Raggasonic,

Good choice on the McR-19XR reflector. You will love it! It is one of my favorite reflectors for EDC.

Your decision on which converter to use will be determined by the battery combination you are going to use. If you are using 1x123 cell, I would recommend the GD1000 converter as you can use both primaries and rechargeables with it (since it's a buck/boost converter). If you are going to use 2x123 or 3x123 cells, I would recommend a DB1000 as it is strictly a buck converter and can tolerate a larger voltage input.