Emisar D4V2 just got really hot while off...

Soulrack

Newly Enlightened
So I bought the flashlight new last month. It has the solid brass body. The 18650 cell is a brand new LG green 10A from battery junction. I just checked the battery after about 3 weeks of it glowing the way that they do and it still shows full charge on my ZTS tester. (I'm new to this game and have carried for ~15+ years an HDS Rotary with primary cells. Super simple and safe.) Today the Emisar just got hot enough in moments to burn wood and blister my thumb! Could this happen if I accidentally dropped the cell in backwards? Any input appreciated. Thanks

defloyd77

Flashlight Enthusiast
I'd contact Hank and ask him and in the meantime, lock it out or leave the cell out. Sorry I don't have any other advice to offer.

jon_slider

Flashlight Enthusiast
> it still shows full charge on my ZTS tester

not familiar w that tester..

fwiw, your light has a battery check feature.. 3C from off.. suggest you read the manual

> Today the Emisar just got hot enough in moments to burn wood and blister my thumb!

scary! do you mean the light was OFF and got hot? if so, maybe your ZTS damaged the battery?

or do you mean the light got turned on to Turbo, and got hot?

> Could this happen if I accidentally dropped the cell in backwards?

no

Before you go asking Hank for help, try to clarify under what conditions the light got hot, and whether the ZTS was used incorrectly and damaged the battery...

bottom line, STOP using that battery, something is very wrong if it got hot without turning the light on. Put the battery in a fireproof location until you can take it to a safe battery recycling company (dont toss in domestic trash nor recycling bin).

Last edited:

Soulrack

Newly Enlightened
This is the tester: https://www.batteryjunction.com/zts-mini-mbt.html

It was one of these batteries: https://www.batteryjunction.com/lg-mj1-inr-18650-batteries-4pack.html