Solar Charger for Eneloop MQR06 Battery Charger?

Opstanak

Newly Enlightened
Hi everyone,

to begin with, I'm not an expert on electricity, so bear with me here. I'm constantly on the field and using AA Eneloop batteries. And while I have enough AAs to last me a few days I do spend weeks sometimes without a power source to charge them. Carrying 50 something AAs is an expensive solution. So, my question is this: is there a solar charger (small enough for single person carry) that I can plug-in my MQR06 Eneloop Charger to fill up my batteries? Is this even possible to do in the field, considering the MQR06 Charger's electricity input requirements?

Also, this question stands for UltraFire LiIon intelligent charger (model WF-139) for AW 18650 batteries.

I've been trying to approach this problem for some time now.

Thanks.

borrower

Enlightened
Have you looked at Cottonpickers solar panel thread over on the marketplace? While they put out DC, I'm sure you could find a suitable eneloop charger that works with them. (I've got one of the panel kits and am very pleased with it.)

CyberCT

Enlightened
I had the same needs as you did in the early summer, and after some research, I ended up buying a solar power battery inverter kit. I plug my Maha 8-Cell AA / AAA charger (I think the MH-8080S) into this kit so I have a constant supply of power. If you plug your charger directly into the solar charger kit which is reliant on having sunlight every second while charging, you will probably end up with power to the charger cutting in and out during the AA charge.

Here's what I use: GoalZero Extreme 350 Adventure Kit
You can leave the whole solar kit charging itself in the car while you're out doing stuff. 350 watt hours should be enough for charging your batteries for two weeks.

Sales Link removed - Norm

Last edited by a moderator:

Lobstradomus

Newly Enlightened