Stenlight XP-G Upgrade?

dirtycaver

Newly Enlightened
Anyone taken a stab at upgrading a Stenlight with XP-Gs?

I have an older (D series) one that I am seriously considering upgrading, however I have no experience mucking about inside this light. I believe the emitter size for the XP-G is similar to the original luxeon. Based on specs the XP-G R5's at the same drive currents would provide double the lumens of the original LEDs. So for the same run-times I'd get quite a bit more light.

The emission profiles are a tad different so the beam pattern might change a bit too. My light has the older clear optics - although I'd love to get my hands on one of the reflectors that was briefly made as a DIY upgrade a few years ago.

Dirtycaver

Mark620

Enlightened
Anyone taken a stab at upgrading a Stenlight with XP-Gs?

I have an older (D series) one that I am seriously considering upgrading, however I have no experience mucking about inside this light. I believe the emitter size for the XP-G is similar to the original luxeon. Based on specs the XP-G R5's at the same drive currents would provide double the lumens of the original LEDs. So for the same run-times I'd get quite a bit more light.

The emission profiles are a tad different so the beam pattern might change a bit too. My light has the older clear optics - although I'd love to get my hands on one of the reflectors that was briefly made as a DIY upgrade a few years ago.

Dirtycaver

That sounds good but...open your light up and look inside.
It is quite cramped and the XP-G R5 would not mount the same.

223.jpg

NSS 55638

dirtycaver

Newly Enlightened
I agree, it might require a slightly different lead path. However, from the datasheets it looks like the die package is smaller than the Lux (even though it is square) and has a very nice emission pattern so should not be too hard to fit within the same space as the Lux while still playing nice with drop-in optics.