Survival Essentials in Aloksak (w/pics)...

bigfoot

Enlightened
I've been wasting my free time (especially in the winter) for a few years now building homemade survival kits after discovering the ETS website. I really like the "Pocket Survival Pak" designed by survival guru Doug Ritter and have one in my hiking pack.

Looking over my gear pile today I was racking my brains to come up with a lightweight way to cover just the survival basics. It had to be something simple so that anyone could pick it up and figure it out. It needed to be waterproof. It needed to be easily duplicated (2 or more kits). This is what I put together (contents L to R):

* AMK Heatsheet
* Spark-Lite Tinder Tabs
* Light My Fire Mini Firesteel
* BiC Mini Lighter
* Suunto Clipper Compass
* Starflash Signal Mirror
* Fox 40 Micro Whistle
* LRI Photon II Light
(All of the above in a 7"x4.5" Aloksak bag. Total weight is 165g.)

A lot of things are lacking; I didn't include any water purification methods (might put some MP1 tablets in later). There is no blade or sharps (usually on me) or high-powered light (also on me). Just meant to be the bare minimum, with the idea it would be added to a larger kit or pack, or stashed in a pocket.

2542724449_41e0ef0e1b_o.jpg

2542724457_a98d1a54be_o.jpg

Burgess

Flashaholic
Nice Job !

Gotta' agree, the Equipped-To-Survive website

has loads of great information ! ! !

:thumbsup:

bigfoot

Enlightened
Hmm... let's see...

* AMK Heatsheet = About $5
* Spark-Lite Tinder Tabs = About $2
* Light My Fire Mini Firesteel = About $8
* BiC Mini Lighter = About $1
* Suunto Clipper Compass = About $9
* Starflash Signal Mirror = About $5
* Fox 40 Micro Whistle = About $4
* LRI Photon II Light = About $10
* Aloksak Bag = About $2

Estimate total of cost = Roughly $46