Underwater Kenetics?

Buck91

Flashlight Enthusiast
How's everybody's experience with this brand? I have a pair of 2AAA pocket lights, thanks to a CPF member and was wondering how the tiny little xenon bulb holds up? My only experience with bulbs that size are minimags, and do I really need to say any more? This seems a little more high-powered as it only has about an hour of runtime off a pair of AAA's.

On an aside, whats the deal with the black reflector in the red led drop-in?

socom1970

Flashlight Enthusiast
Underwater Kinetics is considered by many CPF'ers, divers, firefighters and other light-type people (including me) to be the Surefire of Dive Lights. I have a few of them (SL6, SL4, Q40, 4AA, 2AAA) and they are some of the best non-metallic lights I have ever used. I have been using them for about 15 years off and on. I have never had a bulb burn out in one. The LA's in UK lights last a VERY long time while putting out quite a respectable amount of light for a long time. One of the dive shops I frequent is owned and operated by Scott Jones, the divemaster who was abandoned along with his diving partner by the diving expedition he was traveling with in Mexico sometime ago and rescued by Steve Irwin (The Crocodile Hunter) while Steve was doing a documentary there. I was talking with Scott and he was telling me that he only sells Underwater Kinetics lights in his shop because he believes the UK lights work the best and are the most reliable that he has found. They will serve you well.

P.S. I don't know what the deal is with the black reflector in the red LED assembly.

Last edited:

leukos

Flashlight Enthusiast
I got burned on their warranty one time, they wouldn't repair a defective switch, just sent it right back to me and told me to use fresh batteries. Maybe other folks have better experiences with them, but it is too easy for me to spend my money elsewhere. :thumbsdow

Lynx_Arc

Flashaholic