21700 or 18650 - just starting out

WYlightGUY

Newly Enlightened
I am a novice flashaholic, having a few original Quarks, ZLs, and a MDC. These are all AA lights which I love.

In another thread I asked about finding a 5-6" long ~1" diam woods/trails light with more power. Something floody enough for no tunnel vision, but enough throw to ID things @ 50-100yds. Some suggestions were MH10v2 or MD2/Wildcat or D4V2 or Elzetta AVS bravo/charlie.

These would require stepping into the world of high power Lithiums of which I have no experience. Reading many articles here, most folks are happy with 18650s, but mostly because they have a investment/experience with them. The 21700 seems to be the next gen of that size of battery, and I have found a few lights in the 700 format (SC700d, D4K1, Malkoff build with 21700 tube?, E07x, others?) that might fit my trails requirements.

So I was wondering:

For those of us just starting out, which high power lithium would you recommend investing in for the future?

ChrisGarrett

Flashlight Enthusiast
I use 21700s in an Xtar PB2S—Samsung 50Es, but have no lights that use that form-factor.

They offer advantages over the ubiquitous 18650 that some may prefer, but not for me.

Flashlights will be slightly bigger/better, but that doesn't matter much, to me.

For my power bank, they made sense.

Chris

scout24

Flashaholic
As an ecosystem, 18650's are hard to beat. They are found everywhere, used in everything, and super high draw cells are available if needed. Unless you have an extreme use case where carrying a spare cell is an issue, I'd stick with 18650's. The added runtime of 21700's can be overcome, and heat limits the ridiculously high lumen one minute runtimes offered by most "look at me" offerings. If I were to magically have all my 18650's disappear and UPS wasn't running, there's four vape shops inside a half hour's drive where I could purchase cells.

Chicken Drumstick

Flashlight Enthusiast