Anyone implemented a voltage step-up circuit?

MikeB

Newly Enlightened
I saw that Marcus was going to evaluate a step-up circuit, and it looks like the new Brinkmann "Wal-Mart special" has one (inefficient?).

I've been thinking about trying one out, to squeeze as many electrons out of a Duracell as possible, and/or run white LEDs on 1- or 2-battery sources.

I've found a couple of Maxim chips which might be useful; they seem to be a lot like the part which Marcus described some time back...

I'm no Electrical Engineer, just a tinkerer. I have no real experience in this area, and I don't even know if there's milliamps to be saved this way (the step-up might just waste too much to be useful).

DaveH

Enlightened
I'm not an EE either, but I think I can clarify things a bit. There are several factors here, battery conveniece, circut efficiency, LED efficiency and battery life.

The advantage of a step up circut is that you can use one or maybe two standard voltage batteries when otherwise you would have to use a larger number of batteries without the circut to get the correct voltage.

The price you pay is efficiency, driving the circuit will take at least some of the battery power. So that's the trade off convenience vs. efficiency.

Some circuts use power modulation techniques, this gets brightness, and long battery life, but the circut still consumes at least part of the batteries power. ( Eternalight )

The most efficient circut in terms of not wasting any of the power, is if you directly connect the batteries to the LED, like a photon. Luckily, LED's are flexable enough, that is they can sink varying amounts of current. This is what Photon's do.

Even there though, you may be overdriving or underdriving the LED and not getting the maximum light to power ratio.

So, in other words, everything has a tradeoff, and you just need to decide which thing(s) are most important.

DaveH

D

**DONOTDELETE**