mechanics penlight recommendation

nasa779

Newly Enlightened
hi guys, im a mechanic and i need a durable small bright penlight, im currently using an eagletac t100c2 thats so far taken a hell of a beating

ive been looking at the 4sevens preon 2 and the eagletac pn20a2, but i question how shock resistant they are

1) How would you prefer to purchase the light?

2) Budget: An easy question, but you may change your mind after answering the rest! :)

Less than $50.

3) Format:

penlight

4) Flashlight-specific format/size:

Every day carry small (2-4 inches).
Every day carry medium (4-7 inches).

5) Emitter/Light source:

LED (known for efficiency, longevity, and compactness)
Incandescent (known for superior color rendition)

6) Manufacturer:

I want to buy a light from a traditional mass producing manufacturer that is ready to go out of the box.

7) What battery type do you want to use?

I intend to use alkaline batteries (AAA, AA, C, D) (disclaimer, while it does not preclude all choices, these are not recommended for many of today's most powerful lights)
I intend to use rechargeable nickel chemistry (NiCad, NiMH, NiZn)
I intend to use lithium primary batteries (CR123, CR2, Energizer Advanced/Ultimate Lithium AA/AAA)

8) How much genuine out the front (OTF) light do you want/need? Sometimes you can have too much light (trying to read up close up with a 100 lumen light is impossible).

I want to navigate a dark room or read a map (0-10 lumens).
I want to walk around an unlit rural area (50-150 lumens).
I want to illuminate my entire backyard or a campsite (150-300 lumens).

9) Throw vs. Flood: At what distance will you be most likely to use this light? Select all that apply.

6 inches to maybe 4 feet

10) Runtime: Not over-inflated manufacturer runtime claims, but usable brightness measured from first activation to 50% with new batteries (Measured on maximum output).

doesnt matter