My experience with mega corded lights

degarb

Flashlight Enthusiast
I have been using 40,000 lumens(2000 watts) for work lights since 1992, starting at 10,000 in the Spring of 1990. In 2012, I graduated to a 40,000 lumen metal halide, plus 30,000 lumens (Lowell total plus, halogen). In 2014 I graduated to a 1000 watt, electronics blasted 120,000 lumen light plus the occasional 600 watt 80,000 lumens metal halide when I need to light a a 20 foot by 15 area....... All of these lights still run fine.... One 1000 watt ballast needed to be replaced at circa 6000 hours. ...

Then I have purchased several 500 watt, 300 watt, 200 watt, 100 watt led outdoor flood lights. All of these are now dead, and were barely used in comparison to the metal halide lamps. I tried to make a few 50 watt driverless lights, but as soon as the fan controller or dimmer broke, so too did die their led. I use one 270 watt light as a bedroom wake up light that I built in 2017. I was trying to make a 500 watt light and discovered later that 8 or 9 of the ten 50 watt Chinese driverless chips were fake and only 20 watts. I never run the light over 100 watts and it is very efficient when driven under 100 watts, using the dimmer dial. But not worth dragging to the job.

I learned that the heatsinking cost of fixed lighting is insane, unless you use 200 lpw, and I think that the heat is killing the overpriced led drivers because the heat sinks are overpriced.