silicone caulk to secure soldered wire on XM-L driver ...pls. advice

smilyize

Newly Enlightened
I'm trying to replace the XM-L driver on my previous project, each time I move to re-position the soldered wire on the driver board, it comes off, I'm a newbie in soldering... anyway I can reinforce the soldered wire with silicone caulk ? i' did a search on the forum , it shows none.... can anyone of our gurus advice me...many thanks and have a great day.... smilyize

evilc66

Enlightened
Just solder it right the first time. There is no band-aid for a bad solder joint.

Steps to soldering:

1. Don't use a "cold heat" soldering iron
2. Use 60/40 or 63/37 rosin core solder (not lead free or silver solder)
3. Apply a little solder to the tip of the iron. This is called "tinning". If the tip doesn't tin, then it's junk and needs to be replaced.
4. Tin the wire in question, and if the wire is to be connected to a solder pad, tin that too. If the wire is going into a hole, then don't tin the hole.
5. Put the wire in position on top of what it needs to be soldered to.
6. Apply the iron to the wire and add a little solder
7. Remove the solder before the iron. When the iron is removed and the solder cools, the joint should be smooth and shiny. If not, try again.
8. More solder does not equal better. If you apply too much, use solder wick to remove the excess solder.
9. Practice practice practice.

KDM

Flashlight Enthusiast
To add to the above post, when soldering the wire to the surface heat the wire and the surface together at the same time. Also flux paste makes a huge difference, use a small amount on your wire and surface before applying your solder.

HarryN

Flashlight Enthusiast
I also have trouble soldering using wire, but have found a few very helpful things.