rechargeable 123s instaflashed P60!! HELP!

mdt1007

Newly Enlightened
Sorry for the barrage of questions but I am a newbie to lights and a newly discovered flashaholic :eek:

I've tried putting rechargeable CR123s in my G&P M3 weaponlight (which uses the same voltage xenon lamp as a Surefire 6P) and turned it on -- instantly blowing up my bulb.

This is the first time I've ever used rechargeable 123s and learned my lesson in hindsight.. rechargeable L-ion 123s hot off the charger have much more voltage than 3V each.. :oops:

The batteries and charger I used were from here - http://tinyurl.com/2v9rb2 - has anyone ever seen/used them before?

I could have sworn I saw somewhere that these cells (green, says L-ion, 1000mah and 3V on it) were protected-circuit.

I am going to buy a Surefire 6P Defender and want to use rechargeable 123s in it (but of course do not want to instaflash ever again!). I was looking at some drop-in CREE bulbs - would this work - http://tinyurl.com/38ow9m ?

It could raise the lumens from 65 to 200 and according to the description, quite tolerant of varying voltages (4.5V to 9V). I should be safe even with freshly charged CR123s right?

thanks so much, everyone!!!

ampdude

Flashlight Enthusiast
Use rechargeable lamp assemblies for rechargeable batteries. They may start out with approximately the same open circuit voltage (3.2V or so), but any rechargeable 3V batteries, though regulated, will have less voltage sag under load than primary batteries, so your lamps will be likely to blow. The runtime is not very good with 3.0V regulated batteries anyways because of a couple factors. If you're going to go rechargeable, might as well go the right way.

mdocod

Flashaholic
going to copy/paste this from the conversion guide.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Avoid 3.0V lithium Ion rechargables