Does anyone have any experience with Cloud Systems or Modlite flashlights?

ampdude

Flashlight Enthusiast
I was wondering what you think of yours. They don't seem to advertise the tints much, but I was able to gather 5000K and 5700K for various models of both manufactures. That's a bit cool for me. They seem like really high quality lights in the price range of Surefires and made in USA.

I have no experience with CD, but I do have a Modlite PLHv2, OKW, and PLHv2 Dual Fuel. None of these is the current multi-mode model which seems to be the only option at the moment. I share your opinion on color temp in general, but I am very pleased with my Modlites. While they do not render the warmer end like a Malkoff M91BN (4000K) with which I was just now comparing them, I was satisfied with how easily I could see that red was definitely red. Just not the exact shade of red as the Malkoff revealed. I believe that there is a hint of green in the mostly blue-leaning beam, and just enough green to aid with color rendering without producing any of the nausea factor that some lights have. The company seems a bit secretive, and I've heard, for what that's worth, that they do not even reveal what emitters they are using. I can see that they are domeless, and I'd have mistaken them for XP-L HI's except that they are producing too much throw with a reflector the size of a P60 for that to be the case. At least in my experience. Bear in mind that these are throwers designed primarily as rifle lights, and that the company has simply provided a body (with a McClicky switch in the tailcap) for handheld use. I carry an old-school Oveready-Bored Elzetta Bravo as my primary EDC and Modlite OKW in the 18350 body as a backup and in case the Bravo hasn't got the reach for "get off my lawn" situations. As for your question, "What do you think of yours?": Well, I like them. Perhaps I should have opened with that. :ohgeez:

Last edited:

ampdude

Flashlight Enthusiast