Repairing A Wireless Towing Light Kit

ButchW

Newly Enlightened
I bought a cheap Harbor Freight (Yea, I know ) Wireless Towing light kit to tow my 1986 Suzuki Samurai behind my motor home...... I'm trying to keep the Samurai as stock as possible, so went the easy way with no drilling or cutting... Anyway, after about 6 uses one of the lights stopped working... Past warranty, but called them any way... There reply was to toss them in a trash can and buy new ones... Nope, they aren't getting anymore of my money for lights... The units are sealed, but I got the broken one apart and they have a 3-18650, 2000mAh, 3.7V battery pack in them... It is reading 4.1 V, which I assume is ok... I'm not good with electronics, but figured I could replace the battery pack... But that seems fine correct?... I hate to just chuck $130 out the window as they are like new, seem pretty well made and worked very good, until they didn't... Anybody ever have any dealings with these things?
Thanks, Butch

Lark Hunter

Newly Enlightened
I haven't been into one of these systems at all, but your battery voltage looks right square in the normal range, so you're good there.

I'm guessing the problem lies in the receiver unit in the dead unit... not picking up signals from the modulator that's commanding it from the tow vehicle. Have you double checked to make sure one of the connections between the motorhome and the modulator hasn't been compromised?

And a stock '86 Samurai? Dig it!

ButchW

Newly Enlightened
Thanks...Yea, it's completely original except for paint, rims and one size larger tires,...